Charlotte Symphony Names New CEO

The Charlotte Symphony has announced that David Fisk will be its next President and Chief Executive Officer starting August 31, 2020.

Mr. Fisk comes to Charlotte from Richmond, VA where he has served as Executive Director of the Richmond Symphony since 2002. Previously, he was Chief Executive of the Ulster Orchestra in Belfast, the national symphony of Northern Ireland. Before that he led a chamber orchestra in London, a sculpture park in Yorkshire, and an international arts festival in Manchester, England. Along with extensive experience in performing arts management, he brings a passion for creating community partnerships and access to music for all.

David Fisk is originally from England and became a U.S. citizen in 2014. He began his musical life at age 8 in the choir at St. Paul’s Cathedral in London. He holds a degree in music from Manchester University and a postgraduate diploma in piano accompaniment from the Royal Northern College of Music. David has continued to give public concerts frequently as a collaborative pianist and helps out in church services around town as a substitute organist.

Video: Charlotte Symphony Orchestra Musicians Perform A Symphony A Part

Pictured: Ben Geller, Charlotte Symphony Orchestra violist.

On April 17 at 3 p.m., members of the Charlotte Symphony Orchestra (CSO) played Beethoven’s Pastoral Symphony from their homes. Without seeing or hearing one another, each musician played their part, held space for their colleagues, and trusted that the wholeness of the score connected them. The musicians decided to perform this unique performance as a gesture of gratitude for music, one another, the CSO, and their communities.

Watch videos of the musicians’ performances at asymphonyapart.com and on the Charlotte Symphony Facebook page.

First and Second Violins.

Charlotte Symphony Announces Replacement Conductor for Season Finale

POSTED Monday, April 19, 2010 — As a result of the ash cloud from the recent volcano eruption in Iceland that has mandated closures of virtually all European airports and cancellations of flights, the Charlotte Symphony (CSO) announced today that Christof Perick is unable to travel to Charlotte to rehearse and conduct his final concerts as Music Director on April 22, 23 and 24.


WDAV Previews the Symphony Seasons

This week Jennifer Foster will host two season preview programs – for the Charlotte Symphony and the Winston-Salem Symphony. She’ll take a look at what’s coming up on their classics series and will excerpt some of the planned concert works. She’ll also play recordings by some of the guest artists such as guitarist Jason Vieux and cellist Lynn Harrell and talk to WSS music director Robert Moody.
The Charlotte Symphony Season Preview airs Thursday 9/10, 10 a.m., and the Winston-Salem Symphony Season Preview airs Friday 9/10, 10 a.m.

Charlotte Symphony Musicians Ratify Contract

The Charlotte Symphony Board and musicians have agreed to a new four-year contract which reduces the number of paid working weeks in the Symphony season. The parties negotiated the contract in the face of significant financial challenges facing the Symphony as part of an effort to restructure and stabilize financial operations. The text of the Charlotte Symphony’s press release follows.